The Man Behind the Pen: An Interview With James Newman

I got a chance to interview author James Newman about what it’s like to be an author. James has been in the business since 2004, when he got his first big break with his first novel Midnight Rain. His most recent, Ugly as Sin, has a rating of 4.32 out of 5 on Goodreads.com.

Author James Newman

Author James Newman

Emily: Tell me a little about where and how you grew up.

James: I was born and raised in the beautiful mountains of western North Carolina.  I’ve never left, in fact.   I don’t think I would want to.

Emily: When did you decide you wanted to be an author?

James:  I’ve written silly little “monster stories” ever since I was old enough to hold a pen.  My mom still has some of those.  But the moment when I decided I wanted to do this for real one day?  I can tell you exactly what that happened.  I was in the fifth grade.  I carried around one of those journals with the blank pages, and it was filled with stories I had written.  I got busted one day writing in it when I was supposed to be paying attention to whatever the teacher was saying.  She confiscated it, but then after she thumbed through it she pulled me aside and said she thought I had real talent.  She invited me to read to a story to the class every day.  I did and felt like a rock star during those next few weeks.  At least one girl I had a crush on asked to take the book home and read all the stories before anybody else got to hear them.  I decided, “Yeah, I could get used to this feeling.”   *laughs*

Emily: How did you get your first big break?

James:  My first big break came in 2004, when my first novel was accepted by the first publisher I submitted it to, which doesn’t usually happen by the way. Imagine the shot of confidence that gave me! They said the novel, MIDNIGHT RAIN, a coming-of-age suspense story that I’m still very proud of warts and all.  I haven’t looked back since.

Emily: So what made you choose the horror genre? Did any particular author or film inspire that?

James:  I’ve always loved the “spooky” stuff.  My parents were very . . . liberal . . . about the kind of stuff they’d let me watch when I was a kid.  My dad took me to the theater to see THE INCREDIBLE MELTING MAN when I was four, and I remember the whole family taking a trip to the drive-in to see the John Carpenter’s HALLOWEEN when I was five.  I saw RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD with my parents when I was thirteen or fourteen, and it was my mom who told me about this great movie (now one of my favorites) that she had watched late one night after every one was asleep:  RE-ANIMATOR.  Through the years, I always gravitated toward books that were twisted.  I’m surprised anyone else at my local library ever got a chance to read those SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK books, because I kept those things checked out constantly.

Emily: What was your favorite book growing up? What about now?

James:  I don’t think I could pick just one favorite book.  At least not without a gun held to my head.  Off the top of my head, though, here are a few that I re-read once every few years just to see how the masters do it:  BOY’S LIFE by Robert McCammon, which isn’t even a horror novel, but it’s a huge influence on the kind of stuff I write. THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Jack Ketchum, CAGE OF NIGHT by Ed Gorman, and CHRISTINE and THE SHINING by Stephen King.

Emily: What has been your proudest moment as an author?

James:  My proudest moment until just a few hours ago was when I sold my first novel, I’d have to say.  But today something happened that comes very, very close to that feeling — I received my copies of a book called OCTOBER DREAMS 2:  A CELEBRATION OF HALLOWEEN.  It’s an anthology of different stories by a ton of different writers, in the Table of Contents, yours truly is honored to rub shoulders with guys I grew up reading. Guys like Joe Lansdale, Robert McCammon, and Ray Bradbury.  I’m still having a hard time believing that I was invited to be a part of this.  On one hand I keep thinking, “I’m not worthy!”, on the other it feels like this is proof that I’ve finally made it, that I deserve to be here. Wow.

Emily: What’s your favorite thing about being an author?

James: Feedback from readers.  There’s no greater high than what it feels like to have folks tell you that they enjoyed something you wrote.  To know that they not only liked it, they can’t wait to spend money on MORE of your work. It’s incredible, and I’m very grateful for it.  The money is nice, of course, but to know that you’ve built up a dedicated fanbase is even better.  Again, there’s no feeling like it.

Emily: Have you ever experienced any of the spooky stuff you write about?

James:  Never.  I wish I had a really cool story to tell you, but I’ve never experienced anything “supernatural”.   I wish I had!  I WANT to!   *laughs*

Emily: What advice to you have for college students who want to pursue writing as a career?

James: Read, read, read, read, read, and then read some more.  Read in your chosen genre, but in others as well.  Read not only good stuff, but the bad stuff too , so you’ll know how to do it right but you’ll also have a good idea of what NOT to do.  Another piece of advice I always give, when it comes to writing:  Don’t try to impress.  That has to come naturally.  Tell a good story, first and foremost, and beautiful prose will come out of that if you have talent to begin with.  The author should never show up in his or her story; good writing doesn’t draw attention to itself.  Good writing flows and makes the reader forget that he or she is reading in the first place.

Emily: Any particular person you want to make a special thank you to?

James:  Again — my readers.  I wouldn’t be in a position where publishers are approaching me, wanting to pay me to write for them, if I didn’t have dedicated readers who are anxious to read my stuff.  If you had told me years ago that I would not only be getting paid to do what I love, but that folks would be clamoring for me to give them even more to read, I would have called you crazy.  So yeah.  My readers.  You people rock.

For more about James and his work visit his website by clicking this link: www.james-newman.com

He also has a Facebook profile to connect with fans, so try him there too!

Happy reading everyone!

Leave a comment